06 August, 2020



One of the most important aspects of your plan of immigrating to Canada is finding your NOCs. It is also one of the most complex elements of your application to become a permanent resident in Canada. We receive a lot of questions about – So we are here to tell you everything you need to know about NOCs!


What is NOC?


NOC stands for National Occupational Classification and it is the national reference for all jobs in Canada. The NOC categorizes the entire range of activity in Canada, and it takes into account two aspects of the job market:
The broad occupational category: represents the type of work performed, the field of study and / or industry of that occupation.
The skill level category: besides education, training and work experience, this NOC category also takes into account the tasks and responsibilities associated with the job.


What is the NOC used for?


The National Occupation Classification is used to classify and identify all types of jobs in Canada, based not only on the individual’s position in a company, but also considers their occupation duties (meaning, their responsibilities and daily tasks). As you can probably guess, there are hundreds of NOCs, and that’s why you should be really careful when finding the one that best suits your profile. To make sure you are on the right path on your immigration plan to Canada, count on one of our experts and regulated immigration consultants.
In order to organize all of these occupations, the NOCs are divided into groups, or categories:



noc groups


The main National Occupation Classification (NOC) groups are:

Skill Type 0 (zero): management jobs, such as:


  • restaurant managers
  • mine managers
  • shore captains (fishing)


Skill Level A: professional jobs that usually call for a degree from a university, such as:


  • doctors
  • dentists
  • architects


Skill Level B: technical jobs and skilled trades that usually call for a college diploma or training as an apprentice, such as:


  • chefs
  • plumbers
  • electricians


Skill Level C: intermediate jobs that usually call for high school and/or job-specific training, such as:


  • industrial butchers
  • long-haul truck drivers
  • food and beverage servers


Skill Level D: labour jobs that usually give on-the-job training, such as:


  • fruit pickers
  • cleaning staff
  • oil field workers


Canada’s immigration programs use this classification to determine if a certain job or type of work experience meets their eligibility criteria. For immigration purposes, the canadian government considers those with work experiences under the NOCs 0, A or B as skilled workers.


How do I find my NOC?


Like we said before, in order to determine which NOC group fits your work experience and profile, you must consider not only your job positions and field of expertise, but also your responsibilities, duties and daily tasks.

A regulated immigration consultant will be able to assist you in identifying the NOC (National Occupational Classification) that best suits your work experience and guide you through the entire process of immigrating to Canada.


Are you ready to immigrate to Canada? Take our free assessment tool and find out which immigration program is the right one for you!

And if you have any questions, you can always contact us and we will be happy to help you make Canada your home.